Strikeforce heavyweight Grand Prix semifinals results

Even without former heavyweight champion Alistair Overeem, the semifinals of the Strikeforce Heavyweight Grand Prix tournament turned out to be an entertaining night of MMA fights. Here are the results for the semi-finals of the Strikeforce Heavyweight Grand Prix tournament.

Josh Barnett defeats Sergei Kharitonov

Barnet wasted no time securing the takedown right into mount. From mount, the MMA veteran took his time, softening Kharitonov up with some ground-and-pound. In the final minute of the first round, Barnet secured the arm-triangle choke, sliding into side-control to finish the choke.

Daniel Cormier defeats Antonio Silva

Cormier proved he’s indeed a legitimate heavyweight contender, making quick work of Silva in the semi-finals of the Strikeforce Heavyweight Grand Prix tournament. The Olympic wrestler sent Silva to the ground a couple of times with some clean shots, later finishing him off with an uppercut followed by some brutal ground-and-pound.

Luke Rockhold defeats Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza

Rockhold displayed some impressive takedown defense and scrambling skills, forcing the renowned BJJ expert into a stand-up battle. Rockhold clearly had the striking advantage, impressing all three judges and earning the unanimous decision. With the win, Rockhold is now the fifth Strikeforce middleweight champion.

Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal defeats Roger Gracie

After staring at his opponent for the first few minutes of the opening round, Lawal finally opened up on Gracie. Lawal landed a big right hand behind Gracie’s ear, sending the Brazilian MMA fighter to the ground. A few more follow up punches and the MMA fight was in the books.

Pat Healy defeats Maximo Blanco

Healy displayed a lot of heart in the exciting main event opener, surviving a brutal attack from Blanco in the first round. Healy manned up when several illegal kicks from Blanco gave him an opportunity to back out of the fight, instead using the opportunity to regain his composure. Healy came out strong in the second round, imposing his grappling superiority and eventually securing the rear-naked choke.


Mike Kyle defeats Marcos Rogerio de Lima (unanimous decision)

Rafael Cavalcante defeats Yoel Romero Palacio (KO, round two)

Jordan Mein defeats Evangelista Santos (TKO, round three)

Alexis Davis defeats Amanda Nunes (TKO, round two)

Dominique Steele defeats Chris Mierzwiak (unanimous decision)

More content:

Floyd Mayweather Sr.’S Advice To Manny Pacquiao

Will The UFC’s New Bonus Structure Lead To More Entertaining Fights?

Why A Floyd Mayweather Vs. Amir Khan Showdown Isn’t So Bad After All

Leave a Comment