UFC 140 Results

UFC 140 turned out to be another exciting night of MMA fights, with the youngest champion in the promotion’s history retaining his belt. Here are the results of the UFC 140 fight card, held on Dec. 10, at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada.

Jon Jones defeats Lyoto Machida

Jones passed the toughest test of his MMA career in flying colors, surviving a few tough moments early in the fight. Jones looked better in the second round, finally getting Machida on the ground and inflicting some damage. Later on in the round, Jones secured a standing guillotine, putting the “Dragon” to sleep.

Frank Mir defeats Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira

After getting rocked early in the fight, Mir pulled off a beautiful reversal as Nogueira tried to take his back. Mir secured a kimura in the process, while Nogueira tried to roll out of it. Mir held on to the arm lock, breaking Nogueira’s arm and securing the tap.

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira defeats Tito Ortiz

Tito came out swinging, but it was “Lil Nog” that landed the more telling blows. After softening up Tito with a barrage of hooks, Nogueira sent him to the ground with a vicious knee to the body. Nogueira followed up with some brutal ground-and-pound, eventually forcing referee Yves Lavigne to stop the fight.

Brian Ebersole defeats Claude Patrick

Both men had their moments during their UFC 140 encounter. Ebersole took the first round, but Patrick evened things out in the second round. I gave the third round to Patrick (I’m a little partial to submission attempts), but the Octagon-side judges gave Ebersole the split decision.

Chan Sung Jung defeats Mark Hominick

Jung made UFC history with his TKO victory over Hominick, dropping him with his very first punch and following up with some ground-and pound. With the win, Jung is now tied with MMA veteran Todd Duffee for the quickest stoppage in UFC history (seven seconds).


Igor Pokrajac defeats Krzysztof Soszynski (KO, round one)

Constantinos Philippou defeats Jared Hamman (KO, round one)

Dennis Hallman defeats John Makdessi (rear-naked choke, round one)

Yves Jabouin defeats Walel Watson (split decision)

Mark Bocek defeats Nik Lentz (unanimous decision)

Jake Hecht defeats Rich Attonito (TKO, round two)

John Cholish defeats Mitch Clarke (TKO, round two)

More content:

Chad Dawson In For Tough Night Against Bernard Hopkins

Brock Lesnar Still Open To Professional Wrestling

UFC Considering Frankie Edgar Vs. Jose Aldo Super-Fight

Leave a Comment