UFC 171 results and recap

UFC 171 was certainly the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s most entertaining fight card so far this year, with lots of memorable finishes and entertaining bouts.

The main event featuring MMA veterans Johny Hendricks and Robbie Lawler was simply special, as both men gave their all inside the Octagon.

Here are the results of the UFC 171 fight card held on March 15 at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas:

Johny Hendricks def. Robbie Lawler
Johny Hendricks put on one of the most impressive performances of his MMA career at UFC 171, going back-and-forth with Lawler, a bout during which both men were hurt multiple times.

At the end of the day, the judges felt Hendricks was the better man. All three scored the bout 48-47 in the Texas native’s favor, making him the UFC’s new welterweight champion.

Tyron Woodley def. Carlos Condit
Woodley looked awesome at UFC 171, holding his own striking-wise against Carlos Condit. He was able to get the fight to the ground multiple times, and he eventually put Condit away during the second round with a vicious kick that Condit tried to counter with a spinning attack, leading to a knee injury for “The Natural Born Killer” that brought the contest to an end.

Myles Jury def. Diego Sanchez
Diego was aggressive as usual at UFC 171, but that wasn’t enough to make up for Jury’s superior striking. “Fury” also managed to put Sanchez on his back a few times, bloodying up the Ultimate Fighter season one winner, cruising on to a unanimous decision.

Hector Lombard def. Jake Shields
Lombard improved his record in the UFC’s welterweight division to 2-0, dominating Shields during their three-rounder. Hector displayed his well-rounded skills at UFC 171, mixing his heavy strikes with a  bunch of slick judo trips. That earned him the unanimous decision.  

Remaining UFC 171 results:

Ovince St. Preux def. Nikita Krylov (Von Flue choke, round one)

Kelvin Gastelum def. Rick Story (split decision)

Jessica Andrade def. Raquel Pennington (split decision)

Dennis Bermudez def. Jimy Hettes (TKO, round three)

Alex Garcia def. Sean Spencer (split decision)

Francisco Trevino def. Renee Forte (unanimous decision)

Justin Scoggins def. Will Campuzano (unanimous decision)

Sean Strickland def. Robert McDaniel (rear-naked choke, round one)

Robert Whiteford def. Daniel Pineda (unanimous decision)

David is a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and boxing practitioner who has watched and studied MMA for the past 9 years. Send him your questions @davidkingwriter.

More from the Yahoo! Contributor Network:

Freddie Roach Breaks Down GSP’s Decision to Leave the UFC

Floyd Mayweather Sr.’s Advice to Manny Pacquiao

Will the UFC’s New Bonus Structure Lead to More Entertaining Fights?

Is Ronda Rousey Truly the Best Striker in Women’s MMA?

The Tough Road Ahead for UFC Middleweight Champion Chris Weidman

Leave a Comment