UFC on Fox 3 Results

The “UFC on Fox 3” fight card delivered, with Nate Diaz, Alan Belcher and Lavar Johnson pulling off memorable upsets. Here are the results of the UFC on Fox 3 fight card held on May 5, at the Izod Center in East Rutherford, N.J:

Nate Diaz defeats Jim Miller

Diaz displayed his evolution as an MMA fighter at UFC on Fox 3, displaying some significantly improved takedown defense. Diaz dominated the striking exchanges, and he eventually made Miller pay on a lazy takedown attempt, securing a power guillotine and forcing the tap in the second round.

Johny Hendricks defeats Josh Koscheck

As expected, the UFC on Fox 3 encounter between these two mirror images was very competitive. Koscheck scored first, but Hendricks fought back, landing a few hard shots of his own and scoring with a few takedowns. Koscheck tried to steal the fight in the final round, taking it to the canvas and working in some ground-and-pound. But two of the Octagon-side judges weren’t impressed, awarding Hendricks with the split decision.

Alan Belcher defeats Rousimar Palhares

Belcher put on one of the best performances of his career at UFC on Fox 3, holding his own on the ground against the highly acclaimed BJJ specialist. Belcher survived a few close leg locks, and he eventually found his way to top position, bringing the fight to an end with some vicious ground-and-pound.

Lavar Johnson defeats Pat Barry

Both men came out swinging, with Johnson landing the heavier strikes. Barry wisely decided to take the fight to the ground. But Johnson weathered the storm, surviving a pretty tight keylock attempt and some ground-and pound. Johnson eventually got back to his feet, rocking Barry with a head kick. He followed up with a barrage of hooks, forcing referee Dan Miragliotta to stop the fight with 22 seconds left in the first round.


Michael Johnson defeats Tony Ferguson (unanimous decision)

John Dodson defeats Tim Elliott (unanimous decision)

John Hathaway defeats Pascal Krauss (unanimous decision)

Louis Gaudinot defeats John Lineker (guillotine choke, round two)

Danny Castillo defeats John Cholish (unanimous decision)

Dennis Bermudez defeats Pablo Garza (unanimous decision)

Roland Delorme defeats Nick Denis (rear-naked choke, round one)

Karlos Vemola defeats Mike Massenzio (rear-naked choke, round two)

David is a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and boxing practitioner who has watched and studied MMA for the past 9 years. Send him your questions @davidkingwriter.


Marcos Maidana: The Right Man to Determine if Manny Pacquiao Deserves a Shot at Floyd Mayweather

Time for Another Year: Five UFC fights for 2015

Is the Ultimate Fighting Championship turning on Jon Jones?

Conor McGregor crushes Dennis Siver; ready for Jose Aldo title shot?

Leave a Comment